top of page
IMG_1960.PNG
  • Suspect MIA

Xanshu: Style Meets Substance

by Amanda Levy


11/01/2019



Stephen Crespi, 22, is a Miami native who started his clothing brand, Xanshu, back in 2016. He knew he wanted to create, what he didn’t know was that something as simple as a t-shirt line would go on to bring him a level of fulfillment and purpose that only few have the courage to pursue.


“When I started I was still figuring everything out; I don't want to be a brand for the sake of everyone having my name on them, I want everyone to be able to relate to what they’re wearing in a personal way, to have some substance to what they’re wearing, to have something to look up to. After my first drop, people really liked it and it gave me the mojo to make more stuff.”


As a brand Xanshu is largely focused on independence of thought, questioning authority, and freedom of expression. One of his latest T-shirt design consists of a single sheep inside the universal circle-backlash symbol for ‘no’. Around the circle reads: ‘Think for Yourself, Question Authority.’


“It’s actually a Timothy Leary quote I first heard in a Tool song. A lot of my designs are influenced by the work of Timothy Leary. Xanshu as a brand, it’s very fixated on individuality and thinking outside the system we’re currently living in.”


Crespi also emphasizes the large role music plays in his life. He is frequently inspired by everything under the Rock n’ Roll genre, both past and present.

“Everything I design and put into words is influenced by the music I listen to in a major way. If I had to relate to anything as an artist it would be the mentality that rock music gives people. That ‘f*ck you’ mentality; that ‘I’m gonna do my own thing and you’re gonna love it’ mentality. I feel like that message, especially in this city, is dying. I feel like people are very caught up in materialism, and pretentiousness, and consumerism. It’s ironic because I’m a clothing brand, but I’m doing something purposeful, I don't care about the money, it’s just not my motive.”


But since the launch of his brand, Crespi has found that this message has appealed to people in his community in unexpected ways. Through the creation of Xanshu, Crespi has received a level of support that has allowed him to foster a number of significant relationships in his life.


“Community most definitely plays an important role in my brand, and it’s such an odd situation because I’m such an introverted person. I started this whole thing on my own, but now I have a decent amount of local support from people that I never thought I would get along with or relate to. I’ve gotten to meet so many people who share the same values, and they help me remember that I’m not doing this for no reason. It’s small, but important.”

In celebration of these connections and inclusivity, Crespi likes to incorporate those who both inspire and support his work into Xanshu’s marketing.


“People see what I’m doing, and they want to be a part of it. I don't want to exclude anyone from anything, I don't care what you look like. That’s why when I do photo shoots and need models, I’ll take anyone who likes my stuff. I try to keep it authentic, If someone likes what I’m doing, I will stick them in a photo shoot and let them represent it, cuz they’re actually a part of it.”


Stephen Crespi’s Xanshu is a rare example of the modern apparel line. It is devoid of self-interest, straight forward in sentiment, and held to a standard that is a true reflection of Crespi’s dedication to expression and effort.

“When you open a package from me I want it to impress you, I want it to feel like you’ve bought something worth buying. I don't make anything that I wouldn’t wear myself; and the work, it speaks for itself.”

77 views
bottom of page