top of page
IMG_1960.PNG
  • Suspect MIA

The Unlikely Friendship of Melissa and Janine

by Amanda Levy


10/28/2019

In a world where running an independent business can at times seem impossible, Miami native Melissa Bacener, 22, has found success in small places. Roughly a year ago Bacener transformed what seemed like a simple tool shed on the outside, into a fully-functioning nail salon on the inside.


“So I ended up here because I didn’t want to go on working for somebody else, paying hundreds of dollars to basically work for them and not myself. I don’t like working for other people that are benefiting off my work when I’m not benefiting at all.” A common issue for many independent contractors. “It was just really uncomfortable for me, so I thought to myself,''why not work in the comfort of my own space?”



“I basically just love doing nails, I’m not even going to say anything about my hobbies because I just look at nails all the time; nails are my passion. If you got some crusty looking nails, I will hook you up, I got you. Come through, get that 15% discount and just chill - when you come here you’re pampering yourself, you’re in your own world when you come here. I want people to feel good about themselves when they leave.”


Bacener explains that when she does nails she is not providing a service, but carrying out an act of love, all while claiming her autonomy both as a business person and artist.


“I like being my own boss because I set my own schedule. I want clients to feel like I’m there for them, and like they’re being treated with respect. I don’t like hopping back and forth from client-to-client, it’s a personal, me-and-you type thing. I’ve worked at places that wouldn’t listen to me, and that’s not cool because the things they were getting were cheap and could harm my clients and I wasn’t cool with that. I knew other places don’t use safe products and I didn’t want to risk that; I wanted to do something safe for other people.”

Respect, safety, connection, and comfort are the pillars of belief for Bacener her services. She goes on to explain how in choosing to run her own operation, she discovered a deep appreciation for those in her community who both support and admire her work. “I’m a lot closer with most of my customers because they mostly live in this neighborhood. They like that I’m very clean and precise, and I’m a perfectionist so I make sure their nails are perfect when they leave here. Being close to my community is important, I know most of the people in my community, so why not be in service to the people I know best? I love that I get to help my community by helping the women, or men, or whoever likes to get their nails done, feel better about themselves.”


Bacener stresses that running this service has changed her life in many positive, and yet unexpected ways. She goes on to explain that a few months after settling in, the peculiar Janine began showing up at her salon.


“Janine is my lovely little kitten, shes a calico, around 4-to-6 months old, she has one eye-not completely sure why-she just showed up that way, and skinny like a bag of bones. But now she’s so big, she’s a fatty-and very picky-she loves being cuddled, and playing especially, she loves to bring the claws out.” Which is no problem because, according to Bacener, some of her clients do too. “My customers love Janine, they always ask about her and ask to see her all the time (when she’s not here). When I first found her she would nap in here all the time while I was working. I love having her in here, customers love having her in here too, they always want her to stay.”

“Janine just popped up out of nowhere and walked up to front of my business, and I don't know what in me thought she needed to be our pet but I could not let her go off into the world, so small and defenseless, she couldn’t walk, or see out of one eye. She is my heart.”


There is no doubt about it, although Melissa Bacener is the talent of this operation, it’s Janine who gives it heart.


bottom of page