top of page
IMG_1960.PNG
  • Suspect MIA

A World Sewn by Slymkonyn

by Amanda Levy


10/29/2019

Rosie Castaldo, 24, is an artist and designer currently residing in Little River. Although originally born in Italy, Castaldo came to Miami at the age of 5 as a Cuban refugee.


“When I was 4-years-old my mom took me to Cuba to visit my grandma and the government wouldn’t let us out of the country-because they can do that. So my dad came to Miami and paid some guy ten-thousand dollars for us to come on a boat. It’s a very big part of my identity because when I got to Miami there was a stigma with Cuban refugees, so growing up I would pretend to be American so nobody would know. Now it’s something I’m very loud about, because it finally feels like I can be.”


Now at 24, Castaldo feels she has finally come into her own. Not only in terms of her cultural identity, but as an artist and Miami local. Her brand, Sewn by Slymkonyn, experiments with the use of unconventional materials such as paper pamphlets, cardboard boxes, plastic bags, and so on.


“The medium of my clothing is definitely very environmentally conscious. I think it’s the sole thing that influences my art right now; re-purposing stuff as the future of fashion, for a world where we need to be very conscious of our carbon footprint.”


Starting out as a dollar store connoisseur, Castaldo quickly came to terms with the amount of waste she was producing through consumer decisions. In an attempt to combine her love of fashion with her concern for our earth’s environment, she began making tops and accessories from Ikea bags and La Croix boxes; the result of which was Sewn by Slymkonyn.


“It’s always a political statement when someone’s wearing my clothes. I think making the clothes out of these materials is very radical in a way. There’s a lot behind the clothes we buy in stores, with unfair work environments, and land fill waste, things that a lot of people don't know. It’s very anti-fast fashion, anti-over consumption. It’s a lot about seeing things that you would usually throw out in a different way; it’s a fantasy, almost dreamy. That’s something my clothes make you think about, you can wear anything that’s in your kitchen cabinet right now; That the package your food came in can also be a sickening top.”


Castaldo’s methods differ from the usual designer/artist in more ways than one. Not only does she not ever sketch her designs, her process is completely stripped of any and all planning stages; exemplifying a zest for life, while resulting in work that is both uninhibited and honest.


“It’s mostly cool to see how you can transform things-sometimes I see shapes, and I see them like puzzle pieces that I can make into garments. I get this little art high when I think of something, and because I never sketch when I think of something I try to make it instantly. As soon as I make it I get really jittery because my idea’s become a real thing. I also don't ever measure, I just make things by eye, but I’m usually pretty on the dot. It’s all very spontaneous - I don't think too much about it because if I do

nothing comes of it. I’m not a planner - it’s all instant when it comes to Sewn by Slymkonyn.”


Although her process speaks a lot to who Castaldo is as an artist,

conceptually Sewn by Slymkonyn is utterly devoid of self-interest. Castaldo’s use of unconventional materials and methods is profoundly intertwined with her love for humanity and inclusivity.


“For the most part I never touch my sewing machine when I make my clothes, it’s all put together in a way that’s attainable. It’s not something hard, or couture, or impossible for you to wrap your head around. That’s what I mean when I say the future of fashion, it could be something low income areas can do too. Imagine a world where everyone’s wearing things made of unconventional materials. It’s an attainable dream for people, anyone can make the clothes, anyone can wear the clothes, it’s about being accessible. It’s also not damaging anything by being, because your re-purposing things.”


Although Castaldo’s appreciation for inclusivity is conceptualized through her work, it is put into practice through the spectrum of models used to showcase Sewn by Slymkonyn.


“I try to be inclusive with who models my clothes. Different ethnicities, sizes, gender identities. I didn’t want one size, or one type of person, or skill level. And I didn’t pick the models with a checklist in mind, I wanted people I genuinely find amazing. I wanted them to model regardless of if they were ever interested in modeling. It was nice to see people who were very shy but did it because they love me, and to see them feel their oats on stage; it

was nice to make people feel beautiful in such different clothes.”


The importance of embracing our differences largely stems from Castaldo’s close relationship with her community. Her work is highly influenced by her dedication and love for Miami’s LGBTQ community. Identifying with struggles she faced growing up, she uses her work as a way of healing, while allowing others to heal as well.


“Community plays a huge role in my work. I never felt like I had a community until I discovered the queer scene in Miami. A lot of my best friends are drag queens and kings, so drag is very near and dear to my heart. The community is extremely welcoming. It was the first time I ever felt like I could wear my clothes somewhere and everyone was going to get it. Community is such a big part of my art and it really encourages me to keep going. I think in the LGBTQ world community is important because it’s like your chosen family. My family doesn’t get my art, but these people get it, and they

consume it, they want it and love it, and it’s something they understand, and that’s amazing. I think when you make art that’s unconventional you feel like you live in this little world where no one understands, but this community does.”



66 views
bottom of page